News Tejano Music Awards TMA Trending

39th annual Tejano Music Awards filled with memorable performances

"The Biggest Night in Tejano Music" handed out accolades and featured memorable performances. See the full list of winners.

Lucky Joe performs at 39th annual Tejano Music Awards in San Antonio, Texas on Nov. 16, 2019. | Photo: Mariaelena Arocha

The 39th Annual Tejano Music Awards at the Scottish Rite Auditorium in downtown San Antonio, Texas on Saturday was another special night for the Tejano industry, fueled by powerful performances from some of Tejano’s top artists and some unlikely sources.


Tejano superstar Shelly Lares wowed with her emotional rendition of “Devuelveme el Corazon,” from her latest album “Obra de Amor.” Then, in a moving duet, Best New Female Artist and Best New Group Winner Anjelique of the Sweet City Band joined Lares onstage for “Yo Te Extranare,” a song nominated in the Best Collaboration category. That honor went to “Sol, Arena, Ron y Mas,” from Stefani Montiel, DJ Kane and Gabriel Zavala. (More on Montiel’s performance later.) Stay connected to Tejano Nation for our interview with Stefani, Zavala and a special appearance from the inspiration behind “La Comadre,” a song nominated for Song of the Year. This year’s Song of the Year winner was Lares with “Devuelveme el Corazon.”

Another outstanding performer came all the way from the Netherlands, Dwayne Verheyden, an accordionist and vocalist mentored by one of the best — legendary Tex-Mex global ambassador Flaco Jimenez. Verheyden impressed with his Spanish singing, accordion skills and rounded off his performance with an ode to both Flaco and his own culture with the tri-lingual polka, “En El Cielo No Hay Cerveza,” sung in English, Spanish and Dutch, and recorded by Jimenez.

Lucky Joe, who won Best Male Vocalist and Best Tejano Album for “Tu Principe,” also put on a memorable performance that showed off his versatile voice. You can catch his interview with Tejano Nation coming shortly. While his mariachi-style duet, “Desechable,” with Elida Reyna, who won Female Vocalist of the Year adding to her most

Lucky Joe performs at 39th Tejano Music Awards

Like Tejano Nation on Facebook

Stefani Montiel, a crowd favorite, once again dominated the TMA stage. Montiel, who for years has proven her strength as a live performer, can sing, dance and get the crowd pumped up, showed she can still steal the show with the strength of her vocals and charisma as a performer. Her lively show included a medley from her Best Tejano nominated album, “Amor Supernatural,” which included “Un Momentito Mas,” “Extrano Tu Amor,” “Lo Saben,” “Sol, Arena, Ron y Mas,” and “La Comadre.” Montiel, donned a super-sexy, short, shiny black outfit, fitted with a black sheer train that she later removed to showcase her dance moves and spins while wearing thigh-high silver high-heeled boots.

Stefani Montiel performs at 39th Tejano Music Awards

“Like” Tejano Nation on Facebook

Other Tejano Music Award winners included Best Conjunto Album to Da Krazy Pimpz for “Krazy Mania,” who spoke with Tejano Nation before the show. Tejano Nation also caught up with Sunny Sauceda who won Entertainer of the Year. Stay tuned to Tejano Nation for these interviews, photos and much more!


Full list of winners at 39th annual Tejano Music Awards

Entertainer of the Year:
Sunny Sauceda

Male Vocalist of the Year:
Carlos Rodriguez, Carlos Y Los Cachorros
J Angel Cantu, La Fiebre
Jimmy Gonzalez
Lucky Joe – Winner!
Michael Salgado

Female Vocalist of the Year
Crystal Torres
Elida Reyna – Winner!
Isabel Marie
Stefani Montiel
Stephanie Lynn

Best Collaboration of the Year
“Desechable” – Lucky Joe + Elida Reyna
“One More Light” – Carlos Y Los Cachorros + Anissa Renee
“Sol, Arena, Ron Y Mar” – Stefani Montiel + Zavala + DJ Kane – Winner!
“Streets of Bakersfield” – Jorge Moreno + Ram Herrera + David Lee Garza
“Yo Te Extrañaré” – Anjelique + Shelly Lares


Tejano Album of the Year
“Amor Supernatural” – Stefani Montiel
“Colores” – Elida Reyna Y Avante
“La Vida En Un Hilo” – Michael Salgado
“Porque Todavia Te Quiero” – Jimmy Gonzalez Y Grupo Mazz
“Tu Principe” – Lucky Joe – Winner!

Conjunto Album of the Year
“Diferente” – Tony ‘Tigre’ Saenz Y La Rosa de Oro
“Iniciando Tejunto” – Grupo Anaya
“Krazymania” – Da Krazy Pimpz – Winner!
“Nueva Vida” – Ruben De La Cruz
“The Reunion” – Carlos Maldonaldo Y Grupo Fuerte

Song of the Year
“Devuelveme Corazon” – Shelly Lares – Winner!
“La Comadre” – Stefani Montiel
“Porque Todavia Te Quiero” – Jimmy Gonzalez Y Grupo Mazz
“Suavecito” – Elida Reyna Y Avante
“Tu Principe” – Lucky Joe

Video of the Year:
Anjelique – “Amigos”
Joey Martinez – “Ay Que Chula”
La Calma – “Perdoname”
Sarah Monique – “Esta Noche Te Olvido”
Savannah Votion – “Loca Peligrosa” featuring Zavala – Winner!


Best New Male Artist of the Year
Daniel Lopez, Daniel Lopez Y Grupo Aventura
Ismael Gutierrez, Ismael Gutierrez Y Su Pasion del Norte
Ray Ray, Ray Ray de Los Agues
Ricky Guzman III, Ricky Guzman and The Allstars
Tristan Ramos – Winner!

Best New Female Artist of the Year
Anjelique, Anjelique and the Sweet City Band – Winner!
Liz Garcia
Sarah Monique
Veronique Medrano, Veronique and the Puro Party Band

Best New Group of the Year
Anjelique and The Sweet City Band – Winner!
Daniel Lopez Y Grupo Aventura
Ricky Guzman and The Allstars
Tristan Ramos and The Band
Veronique and The Puro Party Band

Follow Tejano Nation on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram, and subscribe to our YouTube channel to keep up with everything Tejano. Listen to new Tejano music first with our playlists on Spotify and podcast on iHeartRadio.

0 comments on “39th annual Tejano Music Awards filled with memorable performances

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: