News Trending

Premios Tejano Mundial 2022 winners signal a new generation of Tejano hitmakers

The Tejano Music Recording Academy recognized the achievements in the Tejano industy over the past year.

The winners at the second annual Premios Tejano Mundial were announced during a live ceremony in San Antonio on Sunday night (Feb. 20) and the list of names signals a new generation of Tejano hitmakers coming into their own.


Premios Tejano Mundial is an award presented by the Tejano Music Recording Academy to recognize achievements in the Tejano music industry each year.  This year’s ceremony, held at San Antonio’s Shrine Auditorium, featured amazing performances including the never before seen performances from Shelly Lares, Monica Saldivar, Sonja De La Paz, and Demmi Garcia for their hit collaboration “Nada De Ti,” a duet from Saldivar and Emanuel J for “A Mi Lado,” and the showstopper of the night, Savannah V for her new single “La Mas Fuerte,” which received a standing ovation.

Jesse Turner and Grupo Siggno were the big winners of the night, winning a total of three, including two for Turner with Entertainer of the Year and Male Vocal Performance of the Year for “Verdad Que Duele,” which earned Collaboration of the Year for Siggno and Chris Perez.

Tejano icons Shelly Lares and Stefani Montiel won two awards each. Lares, who will retire from performing at the end of the year, earned Album of the Year with LMD82, her final Tejano album, and Social Artist of the Year. Montiel took home Female Vocal Performance and Cumbia Song of the Year for “Ya Lo Ves.”

Rising star Monica Saldivar also won two awards including Mariachi Song of the Year for “Soy Mas Fuerte,” which the music video garnered Video of the Year honors for Saldivar and director Ryan Bazan.


Full list of winners and nominees for Premios Tejano Mundial 2022:

Entertainer of the Year

  • AJ Castillo
  • Jesse Turner — WINNER!
  • Shelly Lares
  • Stefani Montiel
  • Sunny Sauceda

New Artist of the Year

  • Andie Bustamante
  • JC Hernandez
  • Karla Christina
  • Ruby Anne
  • The Homeboyz — WINNER!

Group/Duo of the Year

  • Intocable — WINNER!
  • La Calma
  • Siggno
  • South TX Homies
  • Sunny Sauceda Y Todo Eso

Album of the Year

  • After Party — Sunny Sauceda Y Todo Eso
  • El Maestro — Jay Perez
  • LMD82 — Shelly Lares — WINNER!
  • Lucky No. 7 – Miguel Hernandez
  • Soy Mas Fuerte — Monica Saldivar

Collaboration of the Year

  • “A Mi Lado” — Emanuel J ft. Monica Saldivar
  • “Amor Del Otro Lado” — Roger Velasquez & Latin Legendz ft. Jesse Borrego
  • “Me Decias” — Sonja De La Paz ft Veno Mona
  • “Verdad Que Duele” — Siggno ft Chris Perez — WINNER!
  • “Vete A Volar” — Jaime DeAnda Y Los Furiosos ft AB Quintanilla

Social Artist of the Year

  • Chris Perez
  • Eric Lee
  • Leonel Correa
  • Shelly Lares — WINNER!
  • Sonja De La Paz

Video of the Year

  • “Amor Del Otro Lado” — Aaron Lopez (Director)
  • “Como Te Atreves” — Ryan Bazan (Director)
  • “Irremediable” — Estevan Gonzalez & Stevie D (Directors)
  • “Llorare Por Ti” — Baldemar Garcia (Director)
  • “Soy Mas Fuerte” — Ryan Bazan (Director) WINNER!

Male Vocal Performance

  • Gabe Rivera — “Fe”
  • Jay Perez — “Eres”
  • Jesse Turner — “Verdad Que Duele” — WINNER!
  • Miguel Hernandez — “Eres Tu”
  • Ram Herrera — “Te Traicione”

Female Vocal Performance

  • Elida Reyna — “Todo Es Diferente”
  • Genyva — “Como Te Atreves”
  • Monica Saldivar — “Soy Mas Fuerte”
  • Sonja De La Paz — “Me Decias”
  • Stefani Montiel — “Ya Lo Ves” — WINNER!

Chicano Song of the Year

  • “Cantinera” — Karizma Band
  • “Chicano Boogaloo” — Roger Velasquez & The Lating Legendz
  • “Ensename” — Tortilla Factory ft. Lia G
  • “Mi Amiga, Mi Esposa, Y Mi Amante” — Avizo ft. Joe Posada — WINNER!
  • “Mujeres” — James Rodriguez ft. David Marez

Conjunto Song of the Year

  • “No Vales La Pena” — Los Arenales
  • “Oye Chula” — David Farias — WINNER!
  • “Pudrete En La Tristeza” — The Homeboyz
  • “Vete A Volar” — Jaime DeAnda Y Los Furiosos ft. AB Quintanilla

Crossover Song of the Year

  • “Corazon Rebelde” — Magali Delarosa
  • “Maldita” — The Last Bandoleros — WINNER!
  • “Perra Mala” — Savannah V ft. Gabriel Zavala
  • “Tas Loca Baby” — Tejano Bluesman
  • “Tears In My Menudo” — Bob Ram & The Rams

Cumbia Song of the Year

  • “Contigo” — Marcus Daniels
  • “Marioposas” — Demmi Garcia
  • “Si Me Dices Que Si” — Monica Saldivar
  • “Me Tienes Loco” — Tristan Ramos
  • “Ya Lo Ves” — Stefani Montiel — WINNER!

Cumbia Pop song of the Year

  • “Me Decias” — Sonja De La Paz ft. Veno Mona
  • “Mi Cumbia” — Ruby Anne
  • “Pelon” — Boyz of Kumbia — WINNER!
  • “Por Que No Vuelves” — Angelica
  • “Toda La Noche” — Eric Lee

Gospel Song of the Year

  • “Jesucristo Te Da Ese Amor” — Bebe Martinez
  • “Manos Vacia” — Jerry Sanchez
  • “No Sufras Mas” — Juan R Guerra
  • “Nomas Un Camino Hay” — Johnny Arreola — WINNER!
  • “Para Siempre” — Susy Gonzales

Mariachi Song of the Year

  • “Caminado” — Adrian Solis
  • “Llorare Por Ti” — Magali Delarosa
  • “Simplemente Se Acabo” — Oscar Ivan Trevino
  • “Soy Mas Fuerte” — Monica Saldivar — WINNER!

Norteño Song of the Year

  • “Amor Sincero” — Monica Salidvar
  • “Antidoto Y Veneno” — Solido
  • “De Nuevo” — Jordan Rodriguez
  • “El Precio De Tu Adios” — Bajo Zero — WINNER!
  • “Me Da Gusto” — Destiny Navaira

Progressive Song of the Year

  • “Al Fin” — Miguel Hernandez
  • “Con Tu Amor” — Demmi Garcia ft. David Lee Garza
  • “Fe” — Texas Latino — WINNER!
  • “Fruta Prohibia” — Miguel Hernandez
  • “Para Volvernos Amar” — Jay Perez

Songwriter of the Year

  • Eduardo “Yayo” Anguiano
  • Gabriel Zavala
  • Jonathan Espinoza — WINNER!
  • Juan H Trevino
  • Severo “Sevy” Contreras

Producer of the Year

  • Eddie Perez — WINNER!
  • Gabriel Zavala
  • Jonathan Espinoza
  • Richard Rosales
  • Severo “Sevy” Contreras

Engineer of the Year

  • Aaron Holler
  • Eddie Perez
  • Ernie Gonzales
  • Gabriel Zavala
  • Severo “Sevy” Contreras — WINNER!

Follow Tejano Nation on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram, and subscribe to our YouTube channel to keep up with everything Tejano. Listen to new Tejano music first with our playlists on Spotify and podcast on iHeartRadio.

0 comments on “Premios Tejano Mundial 2022 winners signal a new generation of Tejano hitmakers

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: