Tejano R.O.O.T.S Hall of Fame inducts over 80 individuals into 2016 class

TejanoNation Sponsor
Thomas J Henry

Lobo IV was inducted into the Tejano R.O.O.T.S Hall of Fame in Alice, Texas on January 7, 2017. (Photo by Vic Gonzalez)

Over 80 Tejano and Conjunto musicians, artists and broadcasters were inducted as the Class of 2016 into the Tejano R.O.O.T.S Hall of Fame. The ceremony took place on Saturday night at the VFW Hall in Alice, Texas, designated as the birthplace of Tejano music.

Tony Guerrero of La Sombra, Ramon Ayala, Lobo IV, and Cornelio Reyna were just a few of the many music legends honored at the 17th annual Noche de Fiesta Tejana.

Guerrero was inducted as Male Entertainer, Lobo IV as Progressive Band, Ayala and Reyna with the Pioneer Tejano Award and Tejano Roze was named Female Entertainer.

The Tejano R.O.O.T.S. Hall of Fame Museum started in 1999 to pay tribute to Tejano music and those that create it. The acronym R.O.O.T.S. means “Remembering Our Own Tejano Stars.”

2016 Inductees this year were:

Favorite Son of Alice

Luis Perez

Manuel Contreras


Pete Vasquez

Robert “Bobby” Lopez

Bob Prado

Mando San Roman

Tony Jaramillo

Conjunto Tradicional

JJ Y Los Centellas

-Tony Vasquez

-Chuy Vasquez

-Juan Jose Guardiana

-Andy Deleon

-Freddy Tellez

Progressive Band

Lobo IV

-Alex Delgado

-Paul Guzman

-Fabian Maltos

-David Lopez

Male Entertainer

Tony Guerrero

Gabe Lopez

Emilio Guerrero

Female Entertainer

Tejano Roze

The Joe Lozano “Este Lunes” Award Promoter

Henry Gonzalez Jr.

Mary Flores Gonzalez

Javier “JV” Villanueva Lifetime Achievement Award

David Kent Pierce Biondi

Pioneer Tejano Award

Ramon Ayala

Cornelio Reyna

Escamilla Brothers

-Hector Escamilla

-Mario Escamilla

-Joe Esmamilla

-Ramiro Escamilla

-Ruben Escamilla


Million Dollar Band


Johnny Perez Jr.

Rolando Garza

Joe Luis Ortiz

Orlando J. Herrera

Armando “Mandy” Aguilar

Miguel Flores Jr.

Rudy De La Rosa

Hector Saenz


Robert Ybarra

Gustavo Trevino

Rudy Campos

Roberto Garibaldo Trevino

Israel Cantu

Gilberto Rodriguez

Roberto Martinez

Bajo Sexto

Adan De La Rosa III

Reynaldo Longoria III

Bass Guitar

Jesse “Coco” Torres Sr.

Jaime “Jimmy” Cano

Ricky De La Rosa Jr.

Ernest Munguia Sr.

Everardo Bee Garcia


Joel Torres

Alex Garibay

Luis Ayala

Raymond “Kama” Flores


Victor Clark Martinez

Jacob Torres

John Torres


Sam Luke Deleon

Rosendo “Sandy” Sanchez

Oscar Garcia


Encarnacion Jaime Ledesma “EJ”


Joe Argaiz

Oscar M. Herrera

Alex Rojo

Serapio Herrera


Raul Garcia Jr

Jaime Garza Jr

Arturo Gonzales

Jesse Flores Jr

Press Martinez

Greg Paredez Bajo Sexto Award

Lupe Guzman

Sound Engineer

Anselmo “Chemo” Barrera

Edward Salinas

Daniel Garcia

Amadeo Flores Accordion Player Award

Danny Rodriguez

Adolfo “Rudy” Garcia

Armando Marroquin Sr. Historic Hall

Casa Blanca

Special Recognition Award

Manuel Lopez

Abel Salinas “DJ Daddy”


TejanoNation Sponsor
Thomas J Henry

About Romeo (1435 Articles)
Romeo is a media professional with over 25 years of experience in radio and digital media. He is the Managing Editor for, the premiere website for everything Tejano, and host of the Tejano Nation Podcast.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.