Events News Tejano Music Awards TMA

2016 Tejano Music Awards Top 5 Nominees Announced – Full list

By TejanoNation Staff @TejanoNation
By TejanoNation Staff

tma2016The Top 5 nominees for each category at the 36th edition of the Tejano Music Awards were announced on Monday (Oct. 31).

In 12 of the Tejano Music Awards categories, Jaime De Anda led all nominess with five, followed by the Elida Reyna, Ram Herrera, Ruben Ramos and Michael Salgado with four nominations each.

Celebrating 36 years of being the major and longest running event recognizing Tejano music, the Tejano Music Awards will feature a special tribute to the “King of Tejano Music” Emilio Navaira and a tribute to Latin music icon Juan Gabriel.

San Antonio’s Tobin Center for the Performing Arts will be the stage for the Tejano music’s biggest night, where fans can expect a spectacular show that promises many surprises, exciting musical collaborations, and the recognition of Tejano’s best and brightest stars.

Artists scheduled to perform include Michael Salgado, Raulito Navaira, David Farias,Ricardo CastillonLa Diferenzia, Da Krazy Pimpz, Andres Salgado, Isabel Marie Sanchez, David Marez, Sunny Sauceda, La Sombra  and many more artists to be announced.

The Red Carpet is scheduled for 5:00pm to 6:15 p.m., with the awards show to kickoff at 7:00 p.m. Tickets for the 2016 Tejano Music Awards are available now at

In 2016, Texas Talent Musicians Association continues the tradition of providing only the best recording Tejano artists to the world. Thus gaining more international acceptance and growth in the Tejano Music Genre.

2016 Tejano Music Awards Top 5 Nominees

Song of the Year
“Adicta” – Elida Reyna y Avante
“Dime Si Estoy Loco” – Ram Herrera
“Mirala” – Ruben Ramos
“Todo Para Mi” – Jaime Y Los Chamacos
“Una Reflexion” – Michael Salgado

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jaime De Anda – Jaime Y Los Chamacos
Michael Salgado
Ram Herrera
Ricky Valenz
Ruben Ramos

Female Vocalist of the Year
Betty Barajas – Baraja de Oro
Elida Reyna
Ernestine Romero
Yvonne Ramos – Yvonne Y Grupo Fuego

Entertainer of the Year
Elida Reyna
Jaime De Anda – Jaime Y Los Chamacos
Michael Salgado
Ram Herrera
Ruben Ramos

Album of the Year – Tejano
2715 – David Lee Garza y Los Musicales
Adicta – Elida Reyna y Avante
El Idolo de Tejas – Ruben Ramos
Mucho Mas Que Amor – Ram Herrera
Te Amo Como Me Amas – Tejano Highway 281

Album of the Year – Conjunto
Americano Groove – Los Texmaniacs
Born To Be Bad – Jaime Y Los Chamacos
Hasta El Fin – Ricky Naranjo y Los Gamblers
Para Ti – Los Badd Boyz Del Valle
Tu Copa Rota – Conjunto Romo

Album of the Year – Norteño
Amor de Dos – Zamorales
Muchacha Bonita – Lucky Joe
Por Cielo Y Tierra – Michael Salgado
Sentimientos – Solido
Veneno – Duelo

Album of the Year – Gospel
Cuando Vuelvas a Casa – David Garcia y Los Milagros de Cristo
Mi Rey Jesus  – Javier Galvan
Mi Tesoro – Jerry Sanhez
Majestic Revisited – Kari Jobe
Me Asombro  – Kayla Sandoval
Grand Symphony – Ricardo Sanchez

Vocal Duo of the Year
Carlos Villegas, Shelly Lares – “Por Que”
Chente Barrera, Raulito Navaira – “Los Dos Amantes”
Jaime De Anda, Little Joe – “Morena, Morenita”
Lucky Joe , Jose Zamora of Zamorales – “Sin Dolor No Hay Olvido”
Ricky Valenz, DJ Kane – “Que Seas Feliz”

Best New Artist – Male
JR Reyna – JR Reyna y Grupo Eligido
Navor Romo “Fonzie” – Grupo Romo
Rigo Navaira – Remedio
Roy Garcia – Roy Garcia
Sergio “Chex” Lozano – Revo Live Band

Best New Artist – Female
Destiny Navaira – Remedio
Erika Santana
La Peligrosa
Megan Chapa
Tanya Griego

Best New Artist – Group
JR Reyna Y Grupo Elegido
Los R.V. Boys
Revo Live Band
Sabor Latino Legacy

0 comments on “2016 Tejano Music Awards Top 5 Nominees Announced – Full list

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.